Head, Thomas, Webb & Willis
Phone Number

Call 24/7 Toll Free:
Phone

America's First 24/7 Criminal Defense Law Firm
We Don't Take "Guilty" for an Answer

How We Can Win Your Case
Free Online Case Evaluation

Georgia DUI Penalties

William C. Head
William C. Head
Tom Thomas
Tom Thomas
Lee Webb
Lee Webb
Gregory Willis
Gregory Willis

Lawrence Kohn Lawrence Kohn

A Georgia DUI conviction can lead to some pretty severe penalties – penalties that can last for your entire life. If you have recently been arrested or charged with driving under the influence in Georgia, it is important that you contact an experienced DUI attorney as soon as possible. A good DUI lawyer can make sure that your rights are upheld during this difficult and stressful experience.

Immediately after your arrest, the police officer may confiscate your driver’s license. While you may apply for a new one, it is a good idea to first speak with an attorney. Your attorney can help you navigate the administrative license suspension process.

You will be charged with a “less safe driver” violation or a “per se” violation. Less safe driving is a judgment call by the law enforcement agent rather than a scientific fact. The officer may testify that the driver had slurred speech, bloodshot eyes, or smelled of alcohol – all subjective evidence.

A per se violation means that the driver had a blood alcohol content (BAC) over the legal limit. The legal limit in Georgia is 0.08% for drivers over the age of 21.

For a first time offense, a driver must spend 24 hours in jail, but could serve up to 12 months. The driver will pay fines ranging from $600 to $1,000 and will be required to perform at least 40 hours of community service. DUI School and mandatory alcohol evaluation may be ordered and the driver’s license suspension will last for 12 months.

For a second DUI conviction in 10 years, the driver must spend between 72 hours and 12 months in jail. The fines range from $600 to $1,000, and the driver must also complete at least 240 hours of community service. DUI school and alcohol evaluations are mandatory, and the driver’s license suspension will last for 3 years. In addition to this, once the 3 years are up, an ignition interlock device must be installed on every vehicle owned by the convicted drunk driver – these devices will remain on the vehicle for 6 months or longer.

If the driver is under the age of 21, the driver’s license will be revoked for 6 months any trace of alcohol is found in his or her system. If the driver’s BAC was more than 0.08%, his or her license can be suspended for one year.

In addition to the DUI charge, a driver who had a child under the age of 14 in the vehicle may be charged with Child Endangerment.

Don’t let a DUI affect your life! To speak to a qualified
Georgia DUI lawyer, please fill out our online form today.

Complete a Free Online Case Evaluation Now!

Credit Cards AcceptedPayment Plans Available