Georgia Alcohol Laws
There are many laws in Georgia that deal with alcohol. From driving under the influence to furnishing minors with alcohol, it is smart to be aware of what the laws are as well as what the penalties are for breaking them.
In Georgia, it is illegal for noncommercial drivers over the age of 21 to drive with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. If convicted, you will be sentenced to jail time and a driver’s license suspension for 12 months, among other penalties.
Due to Georgia’s “zero tolerance” laws, a driver under the age of 21 can be charged with DUI with a BAC of 0.02% or higher. A conviction will lead to a 6-month driver’s license suspension. The driver must also retake the written and driving test to get his or her license reinstated after the suspension has ended.
It is illegal for a minor to attempt to buy alcoholic beverages. If convicted, the minor faces fines, probation, and a 6-month driver’s license suspension. The minor may avoid the driver’s license suspension if he or she pleads no contest to a first offense.
If a minor is in possession of alcohol, he or she will have to pay fines and may face probation. If the minor is in possession of alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, he or she will still be subject to fines and probation as well as a 120-day driver’s license suspension.
A minor may face fines, probation, and a 6-month driver’s license suspension for misrepresenting his or her age in order to obtain alcoholic beverages.
It is illegal for adults to provide alcohol to minors. The adult will typically be charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor. If convicted, the adult faces a $1,000 fine and up to 12 months in jail.
Selling alcohol to minors is also a serious offense, carrying with it up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.
Parents may file a civil suit against an adult who supplied their minor child with alcohol.
If you have been charged with any of these crimes in Georgia, or have any questions, please contact us today. A qualified criminal defense attorney will be able to assist you.
Complete a Free Online Case Evaluation Now!
Payment Plans Available