DUI Georgia Third Offense
Like most states, Georgia has some pretty tough laws when it comes to drinking and driving—particularly when it comes to individuals who have a history of breaking them. As a result, if you are arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) and have two prior drunk driving convictions on your record, you face far harsher penalties than ever if you are found guilty of a DUI Georgia third offense.
Under the state’s stringent sentencing guidelines, even the minimum penalties for a third DUI conviction include mandatory jail time. In fact, you can expect to spend at least 15 days behind bars if you are found guilty—and depending on the circumstances of your case, you could remain there for up to a year. In addition, you will remain on probation for up to a year after your release.
Of course, jail isn’t the only thing you need to worry about if you are convicted of a third drunk driving charge. You’ll also have to pay between $1,000 to $1,500 in fines and penalties, as well as perform 240 hours of community service.
In addition, you will be required to enroll in a court-approved alcohol treatment program, which means you will be visiting a rehabilitation center for the next seventeen weeks or more. You can also forget about driving for a while. Along with a five-year license suspension, the court will confiscate all of your license plates and vehicle registrations—which means anything in your name will be revoked, even if you are not the primary driver of the vehicle in question.
Last but certainly not least, you will face the humiliation of paying to have your conviction, along with your name and photograph, published in a local newspaper. And, your conviction will remain listed on your criminal record long after that paper has been discarded. This means anyone who performs a background check will see that you have a history of driving under the influence—a fact that can drastically limit future job, housing, and educational opportunities.
Regardless of your past history, a DUI arrest is not the same as a DUI conviction. Before you can be found guilty, the state must first prove that you did, in fact, commit the crime. Fortunately, with the right legal representation, this can be difficult to do.
As an exclusive DUI defense firm, the Law Offices of Head, Thomas, Webb, and Willis have helped countless drivers like you avoid the life-altering penalties of a third DUI conviction. Our attorneys are well-versed in all areas related to DUI law, and we can use this knowledge to create a strong argument for your defense.
If you have been charged with a third DUI offense in Georgia, make sure you have one of the top attorneys in the state by your side when the time comes for you to face a judge in DUI court. Contact Head, Thomas, Webb, and Willis immediately after your arrest to schedule a free case evaluation.
Complete a Free Online Case Evaluation Now!
Payment Plans Available