DUI Georgia Second Offense
If you are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol in Georgia (a crime known as DUI) and have been convicted of the same crime in the past, you may think you know what you’re up against. After all, you dealt with the same charges once before, so you should have no problems facing them again, right? Think again. As a convicted DUI offender, you face far more severe penalties for a DUI Georgia second offense.
While you may think that the sentence you received for your first DUI was pretty harsh, those penalties are nothing compared to what you'll face for a second conviction. Judges show little leniency to drivers who have a history of DUI and under state law, they are required to impose mandatory sentencing guidelines for a second offense. As a result, you can expect to face tougher punishment if you are convicted of yet another drunk driving charge.
For example, while you may have been able to avoid jail time before, you can plan to spend at least 72 hours behind bars if you are found guilty of a second DUI. In addition, you will be fined no less than $600 and your driving privileges will be restricted for the next three years.
Depending on the circumstances of your arrest, the judge may also order you to complete a driver’s education program, undergo counseling, and/or install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. Your license plate may even be confiscated to ensure you do not attempt to get behind the wheel.
To top things off, you will also have to pay to have your name and photograph, along with the details of your conviction, published in a local newspaper. This means that anyone who sees the publication will know you were found guilty of a second DUI offense.
Fortunately, with help from an experienced attorney, you may be able to avoid a second DUI conviction. In many cases, the officer may be unable to prove that he or she had sufficient cause to suspect you of driving under the influence, which could lead the judge to dismiss your case. You may even be able to question the accuracy of your breath test results in order to prove that your blood alcohol content (BAC) was within the legal limits at the time of your arrest.
To determine the best defense strategy for your case, contact the Law Offices of Head, Thomas, Webb, and Willis today for a free, no-obligation case evaluation. As one of the most successful DUI defense firms in the state, our attorneys know the best tactics that can be used to challenge your arrest and help you avoid a second DUI conviction in Georgia.
Put us to work for you. Call now to start planning your defense.
Complete a Free Online Case Evaluation Now!
Payment Plans Available